SMETHPORT — The Smethport track and field teams will have to wait a little longer to begin their season due to Covid protocols and contact tracing, but an experienced group with talented underclassmen will be ready to go when the time comes.

Veteran Smethport Area High School track and field coach Rick Woodring welcomes back 15 lettermen from the 2019 campaign that saw the Hubbers post a 10-0 record.

Among the 15 lettermen on the 26-member senior-dominated team are district qualifiers Jordan Pavlock in the 1600 and 3200-meter relays and Ryli Burritt in the triple jump. Additionally, Pavlock competes in the middle distances, and Burritt enters the sprints and long jump. Both are seniors.

Woodring, beginning his 31st season at the helm, told The Era his other key lettermen are seniors Chase Burdick, distance/javelin; Kyler Alexis, middle distance; Parker Jack, hurdles; Layne Shall, long, triple and high jumps; Logan Christie, Daryn Dalton and Kameron Rounsville, sprints; Tyler Howes, Matthew Nolte, Adenn Stevens and Austin Coleman, shot/discus/javelin; junior John Adamoski, long/triple/ high jumps; and sophomore Bryce Gifford, pole vault/middle distance.

"We'll be counting on our new four sophomores and seven freshmen for extra depth and points," Woodring noted.

“Like the senior lettermen, the sophomores and freshmen show depth in the events," Woodring said. "Our sophomores are Tristen Taylor, a sprinter; Owen Holmberg in the shot/discus/javelin; Aiden McKean, in the pole vault and hurdles; and Ryan Pelchy in the sprints/jumps.

"Rounding out the team are freshmen Carson Dunn, Ben Page and Ryan Mason, sprinters; hurdler Alex Cole; and Ben Harris, Robert Hargett and Vincent Elderkin in the shot/discus/javelin."

District qualifier in the 1600 and 3200 meters Jenna Gregory, a junior, is among the eight returning letter winners this season for the Smethport Lady Hubbers track and field team.

Other returning letter winners who will play key roles in improving on 2019’s 4-6 record are seniors, Chloe Costa, sprints/jumps; Cadence Gamet, hurdles/sprints; Haley Snyder, sprints/jumps; juniors, Emily Miller, distances; and sophomores, Katelyn Dunn, hurdles/sprints; Abby Lutz, shot/discus/javelin; and Faith Miller, hurdles.

"Other new team members who will be looked at to add depth and score team points include freshmen Julianna Cole in the sprints and jumps; Teah Howard in the sprints and Ruth Line in the pole vault and sprints,” Woodring said.

Woodring's veteran coaching staff consists of Bill Stephen, Eric Lutz, Holli Gregory and Max Simms.

Both teams were originally scheduled to begin the season today against Coudersport and Port Allegany, but the teams’ first three meets been postponed due to Covid protocols and contact tracing.

The schedule is below.


Monday, April 26: at Sheffield, 4 p.m.

Tuesday, April 27: vs. Johnsonburg and Eisenhower, 4 p.m.

Thursday, April 29: (with Northern Potter) at Otto-Eldred, 4 p.m.

Tuesday, May 4: vs. Cameron County and Oswayo Valley, 4 p.m.

Monday, May 10: vs. Coudersport and Port Allegany, 4 p.m.

Friday, May 14: North Tier League Meet, 3:30 p.m.

Friday, May 21: District 9 Championships at Brookville, 3 p.m.

Trending Food Videos