McKean County Commissioners Tom Kreiner and Carol Duffy welcomed Nathan Burgett, center, as the new director of the Department of Emergency Services during Tuesday’s commissioners’ meeting. He succeeds Tracy Carl who retired.

SMETHPORT — Nathan Burgett was introduced as the new director of the McKean County Department of Emergency Services during the commissioners’ meeting Tuesday morning.

His appointment was effective June 5. He succeeds Tracy Carl who has retired.

In his new position, Burgett will oversee the operations of the 9-11 Emergency Communications Center and the McKean County Emergency Management Agency.

A native of Austin who now resides in Port Allegany, Burgett joined the McKean County DES as a dispatcher at the 9-11 center in 2015 and was promoted to that agency’s quality assurance and training coordinator in 2018.

In other personnel matters, Gregg Boser has retired from the Sheriff’s Office, effective May 31, and Shayne Miller was hired as a field deputy for that office with a starting date of June 7.

Also, commissioners approved the appointment of Steven Mongillo to the board of directors of the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services Inc. for a three-year term, ending on June 8, 2024.

In other votes, Commissioners Tom Kreiner and Carol Duffy — Cliff Lane was absent — approved the allocation of county liquid fuel funds for $109,989 to municipalities based on population and miles of roads. The highest amount went to Bradford City at $14,961, followed by Bradford Township at $10,024 and Foster Township at $9,828, down to a low of $980 for Sergeant Township.

Commissioners approved the North Central Pennsylvania Regional Planning and Development Commission Professional and Administrative Services agreement for COVID-19 Hospitality Industry Recovery Program — CHIRP — as amended, to include compensation from the county to the North Central for $155.83 per application, not to exceed $5,610.

In other votes, the commissioners accepted 13 bids for repository sales, which were previously OKd by the respective municipal governments and school districts.

In the case of a residential property in Port Allegany, which saw the two approving groups split, the commissioners provided the tie-breaking vote in favor of Izak Bidwell for $2,000.

Other successful bidders for the remaining lots and commercial and residential properties were as follows: Bradford Township, 270 West Corydon Street, Rodney/Regina Martin, $365; Otto Township, 11 Maple Street, Kylie/Geromia Schoonover, $2,200; Port Allegany, 208 North Main Street, Ryan/Alyssa Schoonover, $6,000; Bradford City, 49 West Corydon Street, Cody Hennard, $250; Bradford City, 62 Hobson Place, Gregory/Rebecca Henton, $305; Bradford City, 1 Amm Street, Dean Bazzani, $300; Bradford City, 174 Kennedy Street, Jason Moreth, $250; Bradford City, 18 Edna Avenue, William Rogginbaum, Sr., $250; Bradford City, 12 Leigh Street, Jason Moreth, $250; Bradford City, 50 Rochester Street, North Street Associates, LLC, $600; Bradford City, 319 Jackson Avenue, Patrick Giordano, $1,251; and Bradford City, 9 Longfellow avenue, Mark Speziale, $650.

The commissioners will meet again in a public meeting at 10 a.m. on June 22.

Trending Food Videos