The Bradford Bees were the overall winning team in the annual Envirothon event, held by the Cameron and McKean County Conservation Districts.

The event was held virtually April 14. This was the 31st year for the Envirothon in McKean County. Cameron County High School, Bradford Area High School, Otto-Eldred High School, Port Allegany High School, and Smethport Area High School had teams participate in the event. The event will return to Elk Lick Scout Reserve in 2022.

Thirteen teams from both counties participated in five station tests focusing on aquatic resources, wildlife, forestry, soils & land use, and current issue-water resource management: local control & local solutions. During the Envirothon competition, students may be asked to calculate board feet in a tree, identify aquatic organisms, or determine appropriate land use according to soil characteristics. They work collaboratively as a five-member team to answer questions, and use their critical thinking to find solutions to reality-based situations, such as how to balance the use and protection of our natural resources.

Advisors at each high school guided teams and helped them prepare for this comprehensive environmental competition. The highest scoring team from each county will advance to the PA Envirothon to be held May 10-11, 2021. A ‘Wild’ Envirothon virtual awards ceremony was held on April 19th.

Awards were presented for the top three places in each county, five station awards, and a trophy for the overall winner. McKean County winners -Third place -Timberdoodles from Bradford Area High School (Lauren Bennett, Alisiya Dansberger, Sophie Cornelius, Krissa Jackson, and Lilly Kemick); Second place- Swamp Grass from Smethport Area High School (Jordan Pavlock, Kyler Alexis, Kassidy DiDomizio, Chase Burdick, and Parker Jack); First place- The Bradford Bees from Bradford Area High School (Tripp Hoover, Mitchell Barker, Tim Mulcahy, Amber Eschrich, and Mary Bukowski).

Cameron County Winners – First place- Forces of Nature from Cameron County High School (Sarah Abriatis, Kaelee Bresslin, Wesley Walters, Reggie Goodrow, and Morgan Lorenzo). Station Awards: Aquatic Resources, Forestry, Soils & Land Use, and Current Issue were all awarded to The Bradford Bees; Wildlife station was won by the Forces of Nature.

T-shirts for all participating students and the event awards were delivered to all participating schools.

Local sponsors who supported the Envirothon included American Refining Group, Inc., Danzer Lumber, Columbia Gas, Pine Haven Vet Clinic, Zook Motors, Upper Allegheny Watershed Association, Fraternal Order of Eagles, Kiwanis Club of Bradford, Lafayette Township, International Waxes, Seneca Chapter of Trout Unlimited, Allegheny Hardwood Utilization Group, Shell, Inc., Emporium Hardwoods-Rossi Group, GKN, PSM Brown Co., Cameron County Outdoor Youth Association, Emporium Moose Lodge #368, May Hollow Sportsmans Club, Sinnemahoning Sportsmans Club, and L&M Lumber.

Trending Food Videos